Jasper County Planning Commission 358 Third Avenue Ridgeland, SC 29936 843-717-3650 phone 843-726-7707 fax

Minutes of the February 13, 2024 Regular Scheduled Meeting

Members Present: Mr. Alex Pinckney, Chairman; Dr. Debora Butler, Vice-Chairman; Dr. Earl Bostick, Sr.; Mr. Thomas Jenkins; Ms. Sharon Ferguson; Mr. Brent Robinson

Members Absent: Mr. Lee Gramling

Staff Present: Ms. Lisa Wagner

In accordance with the Freedom of Information Act the electronic and print media were notified. During periods of discussion and/or presentations minutes are typically condensed and paraphrased. The recorded version is available online at: <u>https://www.youtube.com/@jcmedia6537/streams</u>

Call to Order: Chairman Pinckney brought the meeting to order at approximately 6:15 p.m.

Invocation & Pledge of Allegiance: Invocation and the Pledge of Allegiance was given by Dr. Bostick.

Approval of Agenda: Mr. Jenkins moved to approve the Agenda as published, seconded by Dr. Bostick. The Commission Members voted unanimously in favor of the motion.

Approval of January 17, 2024, Regular Scheduled Meeting Minutes: Dr. Bostick moved to approve the Minutes of January 17, 2024, seconded by Ms. Ferguson. The Commission Members voted in favor of the motion.

Old Business:

Road Name Petition - Ruben Drive: Ms. Wagner gave an update on the road inspection by the Fire Marshal. There was discussion about the process for approving the road inspection. **Dr. Bostick moved to approve the Road Name Petition - Ruben Drive, seconded by Mr. Robinson. The Commission Members voted unanimously in favor of the motion.**

Discussion:

2023 Annual Reports: Ms. Wagner went over the annual reports that were prepared. There was discussion about the need for more staff and requirements for mobile home permitting.

Open Discussion: There was discussion about spot zoning and annexation, the status of the moratorium and the update of the Comprehensive Plan, RVs in the county, roads in the floodplain, nuisance laws, and speed limits.

Adjourn: Mr. Jenkins moved to adjourn, seconded by Dr. Butler. The Commission Members voted unanimously in favor of the motion. The meeting adjourned at approximately 7:25 p.m.

Respectfully Submitted,

Tara Hayes