Legislation Delegation

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

Delegation Officer

Mailing Address: PO Box 2433 Ridgeland, SC 29936

Physical Address: Mary Gordon Ellis Executive Building 651 Grays Highway, Ridgeland SC 29936

Phone: (843) 726-6019  Fax: (843) 726-5068

Email: jcdelegation@jaspercountysc.gov



Jasper County Legislative Delegation Office

The Jasper County Legislative Delegation Office serves as a local Liaison between the public, Governmental agencies and the 5 elected state legislators who represent Jasper County. The Delegation Officer also processes all Notary Public applications filed by Jasper County voting residents.  


The 1975 Passage of Act No. 283, SC Acts and Joint Resolutions, mandated the creation of county-funded delegation offices to provide administrative support in each of the state’s 46 counties.


The delegation meets at the call of the Chair. Delegation meetings are open to the public and are conducted at various sites and times throughout Jasper County, providing greater access to the citizens to attend.  All Legislative Delegation meetings are videotaped and are broadcast by Hargray Cable. The public is provided a notice of all meetings on the Jasper County website, and through all other available media.  Agendas are posted a minimum of 24 hours before meetings.


Delegation Member, Districts, Party Affiliation Committee and Sub-committee Service:


Chairman Rep. Wm. Weston J. Newton: SC House 120 Republican: 

Judiciary, House Oversight  Sub-committees: Judiciary -Constitutional Law, Oversight -Executive


Vice Chairman Sen. Margie Bright Matthews:

 SC Senate 45 Democratic: Correction and Penology, Judiciary and Medical Affairs, Fish Game & Forestry, and Transportation 

Sen. Tom Davis:

SC Senate 46 Republican: Banking and Insurance, Corrections & Penology, Finance, Invitations Chairman, Labor Commerce & Industry, and  Medical Affairs  

Rep. Shedron Williams:

SC District 122 Democratic. (Hampton, Jasper and Beaufort Counties). Medical, Military, Public and Municipal Affairs and Military Advisory Committees.

Rep. William "Bill" G. Herbkersman:

SC House 120 Republican: Ways and Means Sub-committee Chairman Government 



  • Assist the public with information about other government agencies.

  • Serve as the liaison between citizens, agencies and Jasper Legislative Delegation members.

  • Process all Notary Public applications for Jasper County.

  • Coordinate administrative functions and meetings of the Jasper Legislative Delegation.

  • Provide public information on the status of the South Carolina Legislation via the internet.

  • Provide, process applications and maintain records of all Jasper Legislative Delegation recommended county and regional boards as directed through state legislation. 

  • Providing Jasper Legislative Delegations recommendations form applications to the appropriate agency and state officials.

  • Provide letters of recommendation to deserving students for scholarship and college applications.

  • Process all Parks and Recreation and Tourism grants and provide selections from Delegation to state office of Parks Recreation and Tourism.

  • Additional duties as directed by members of the Jasper Legislative Delegation.

Boards do not report to the Jasper Legislative Delegation Office, nor does the Jasper Legislative Delegation office maintain records of their meetings nor provide public notice of board meetings.

Local Boards receiving Legislative Recommendations:

  • Beaufort/Jasper Higher Education Commission

  • Beaufort/Jasper Water and Sewer Authority

  • Coastal Empire Mental Health Board

  • Disabilities and Special Needs Board

  • State Foster Care Board

  • Voters Registration and Election Board

  • County Forestry Board

  • County Transportation Board

  • Regional State Education Board

  • Lowcountry and Resort  Islands Tourism Commission

  • County Veterans Affairs Officer

  • Harbor and Pilots Commission

  • Technical College of the Lowcountry  Board

  • Joint Maritime Board


Senatorial Appointment of Magistrates